Now you're a councillor

Now you're a councillor

A site for women councillors in Victorian local government

There are three spheres of government in Australia

1.    Local
2.    State and Territory
3.    Federal

The job of local government is to provide leadership for the good governance of communities.

It’s important that all councillors understand the roles and responsibilities of local government, which are listed in the Victorian Local Government Act (1989).  The best place to start is with Section 3 of the Act.  Apart from the Local Government Act, there are 220 other pieces of legislation and regulations that impact on local government.

Make sure you ask the CEO for a briefing on the legislation you need to understand.